You're using an outdated browser. This website will not display correctly and some features will not work.
Learn more about the browsers we support for a faster and safer online experience.

# result(s)

Courts of Justice Act

R.R.O. 1990, REGULATION 186

Amended to O. Reg. 440/05


Historical version for the period July 25, 2005 to July 5, 2007.

This is the English version of a bilingual regulation.

1. For the purposes of the Act, the Province of Ontario is divided into the regions described in the Schedule. R.R.O. 1990, Reg. 186, s. 1.

2. The offices of the regional senior judges, the regional director of courts administration and the regional director of Crown attorneys for each region are to be located in the following municipalities:


Northwest Region

The City of Thunder Bay.


Northeast Region

The City of Sudbury.


East Region

The City of Ottawa.


Central East Region

The Town of Newmarket.


Toronto Region

The City of Toronto.


Central West Region

The City of Brampton.


Central South Region

The City of Hamilton.


Southwest Region

The City of London.

R.R.O. 1990, Reg. 186, s. 2.




Northwest Region

The territorial districts of Kenora, Rainy River and Thunder Bay.

Northeast Region

The territorial districts of Algoma, Cochrane, Manitoulin, Nipissing, Parry Sound, Sudbury and Timiskaming.

East Region

    1. The counties of Frontenac, Hastings, Lanark, Lennox and Addington, Prince Edward and Renfrew.


    2. The united counties of,


    i. Leeds and Grenville,


    ii. Prescott and Russell, and


    iii. Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry.


    3. The Regional Municipality of Ottawa-Carleton.

Central East Region

    1. The District Municipality of Muskoka.


    2. The counties of Haliburton, Northumberland, Peterborough, Simcoe and Victoria.


    3. The regional municipalities of Durham and York.

Toronto Region

The Municipality of Metropolitan Toronto.

Central West Region

    1. The counties of Bruce, Dufferin, Grey and Wellington.


    2. The regional municipalities of Halton and Peel.

Central South Region

    1. The County of Brant.


    2. The regional municipalities of Haldimand-Norfolk, Hamilton-Wentworth, Niagara and Waterloo.

Southwest Region

The counties of Elgin, Essex, Huron, Kent, Lambton, Middlesex, Oxford and Perth.

R.R.O. 1990, Reg. 186, Sched.