These programs honour and recognize a diverse range of Ontarians for extraordinary acts of bravery, citizenship, volunteerism and community service.

Several honours and medal programs are part of Canada’s Order of Precedence, including The Order of Ontario, the province’s highest honour, as well as the Ontario Medal for Good Citizenship, the Ontario Medal for Police Bravery and the Ontario Medal for Firefighter Bravery.

Learn about the honours and awards, including how to nominate someone.

Order of Ontario

The Order of Ontario is the province’s highest honour. An Ontarian who has shown outstanding qualities of individual excellence and achievement in any field is eligible to be appointed.

Learn about the Order of Ontario and how you can nominate someone.


Learn how to nominate someone for honours and awards for achievements in volunteering.

This includes the:

  • Ontario Medal for Young Volunteers
  • Ontario Volunteer Service Awards
  • June Callwood Outstanding Achievement Award for Voluntarism
  • Lieutenant Governor’s Community Volunteer Award for Students


Learn how to nominate someone for an award for an outstanding act of bravery.

This includes the:

  • Ontario Medal for Police Bravery
  • Ontario Medal for Firefighter Bravery
  • Ontario Medal for Paramedic Bravery


Learn how to nominate an individual or group for an award recognizing their efforts to make Ontario more inclusive and accessible.

This includes the:

  • Lincoln M. Alexander Award
  • David C. Onley Award for Leadership in Accessibility
  • Champion of Diversity Award


Learn how to nominate someone for honours, awards and scholarships related to community service.

This includes the:

  • Age-Friendly Communities Recognition Program
  • Ontario Medal for Good Citizenship
  • Ontario Senior Achievement Award
  • Ontario Senior of the Year Award
  • Hilary M. Weston Scholarship

Arts and literature

Learn how to nominate someone for an award for their talents in the arts.

This includes the:

  • James Bartleman Indigenous Youth Creative Writing Awards