About the Apiary Program

The Apiary Program, administered by the Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs (OMAFRA), is responsible for the oversight and administration of the Ontario Bees Act.

Through its administration of the Act, the Apiary Program:

  • conducts regulatory inspections
  • monitors for pest and disease
  • issues beekeeper registrations and permits for sales and imports of live bees

Beyond regulatory responsibilities, the program plays an important role in knowledge and technology transfer, such as publishing Best Management Practices and information for beekeepers and the apiculture industry on honey bee health, pests and diseases.

Program specialists also participate on collaborative working groups to address honey bee health concerns within Ontario, Canada and North America.

Managed honey bees are valuable pollinators, playing a crucial role in Ontario’s agricultural sector. The Apiary Program works closely with its regulated clients to support the viability of Ontario's managed honey bee sector. The Apiary Program serves anywhere from 2,500 to 3,500 registered beekeeper clients.

Contact the Apiary Program

Contact the Apiary Program if you have questions about registration, permits or bee health.

For general inquiries, email apiary@ontario.ca.

For registration-related inquiries, email BeekeeperRegistration@ontario.ca.

Fax: 226-314-0983

Mail:

Apiary Program
Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs
Animal Health and Welfare Branch
1 Stone Road West, 5th Floor NW
Guelph, ON N1G 4Y2

Apiary inspectors

Apiary inspectors are appointed under the Bees Act. Their regulatory duties include:

  • inspecting honey bee colonies and/or equipment
  • responding to complaints
  • conducting compliance actions
  • issuing Selling Permits to beekeepers

Here is a list of appointed Apiary Inspectors by area.

RegionArea/county servicedInspector nameEmail addressPhone number
SouthwesternChatham-Kent, Elgin, Essex Middlesex, LambtonRobert Whitson

Gillian Leitch
Robert.Whitson@ontario.ca

Gillian.Leitch@ontario.ca
519-350-2720

548-388-6965
OxfordGillian Leitch

Kelsey Ducsharm
Gillian.Leitch@ontario.ca

Kelsey.Ducsharm2@ontario.ca
548-388-6965

519-403-8250
Norfolk, BrantKristina Greer

Gillian Leitch
Kristina.Greer@ontario.ca

Gillian.Leitch@ontario.ca
289-213-0366

548-388-6965
Haldimand, Hamilton, NiagaraKristina Greer

Patrick Arteaga
Kristina.Greer@ontario.ca

Patrick.Arteaga@ontario.ca
289-213-0366

226-228-3758
HaltonPatrick Arteaga

Kelsey Ducsharm

Kristina Greer
Patrick.Arteaga@ontario.ca

Kelsey.Ducsharm2@ontario.ca

Kristina.Greer@ontario.ca
226-228-3758

519-403-8250

289-213-0366
PerthMurray Fear

Carolyn Fear

Kelsey Ducsharm

Gillian Leitch
Murray.Fear@ontario.ca

Carolyn.Fear@ontario.ca

Kelsey.Ducsharm2@ontario.ca

Gillian.Leitch@ontario.ca
519-820-3483

519-357-5612

519-403-8250

548-388-6965
Waterloo, WellingtonKelsey Ducsharm

Murray Fear

Carolyn Fear
Kelsey.Ducsharm2@ontario.ca

Murray.Fear@ontario.ca

Carolyn.Fear@ontario.ca
519-403-8250

519-820-3483

519-357-5612
Bruce, Grey, HuronMurray Fear

Carolyn Fear
Murray.Fear@ontario.ca

Carolyn.Fear@ontario.ca
519-820-3483

519-357-5612
Southwestern and GTADufferin, Peel, TorontoKelsey Ducsharm

Patrick Arteaga
Kelsey.Ducsharm2@ontario.ca

Patrick.Arteaga@ontario.ca
519-403-8250

226-228-3758
Central and GTAYork, SimcoeMike Perrin

Brenda Perrin

Adam Bayard

Patrick Arteaga
Mike.Perrin@ontario.ca

Brenda.Perrin@ontario.ca

Adam.Bayard@ontario.ca

Patrick.Arteaga@ontario.ca
705-879-5508

705-879-2725

705-341-1659

226-228-3758
Central and GTADurham, Haliburton, Hastings, Kawartha Lakes, Northumberland, Peterborough, Prince EdwardMike Perrin

Brenda Perrin

Adam Bayard
Mike.Perrin@ontario.ca

Brenda.Perrin@ontario.ca

Adam.Bayard@ontario.ca
705-879-5508

705-879-2725

705-341-1659
EasternFrontenac, Lanark, Leeds and Grenville, Lennox/ Addington, Ottawa, Prescott and Russell, Renfrew, The United Counties of Stormont, Dundas and GlengarryFaye Bryers

Shelley Neilson
Faye.Bryers@ontario.ca

Shelley.Neilson@ontario.ca
613-859-8321

613-853-5325
North central and northwesternAlgoma, Greater Sudbury, Manitoulin, Muskoka, Nipissing, Parry Sound, Sudbury, TimiskamingTim Greer

Kristina Greer
Tim.Greer@ontario.ca

Kristina.Greer@ontario.ca
705-507-3527

289-213-0366
CochraneTim Greer

Rob Rupert
Tim.Greer@ontario.ca

Rob.Rupert@ontario.ca
705-507-3527

807-621-1745
Kenora, Rainy River, Thunder BayRob RupertRob.Rupert@ontario.ca807-621-1745

Provincial Apiarist

The Provincial Apiarist is appointed under the Bees Act. In addition to having all the powers of an inspector, the Provincial Apiarist is responsible for:

  • issuing Queen and Nuc and Import Permits to beekeepers
  • overseeing honey bee health and disease issues by working collaboratively with the industry, researchers and other specialists on strategies for bee health in Ontario

Email the Provincial Apiarist at Paul.Kozak@ontario.ca.

Contact us

Contact the Agricultural Information Contact Center (AICC) by phone at 1-877-424-1300 or email ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca.

The AICC is the primary contact for:

  • suspected Asian giant hornet sightings in Ontario
  • suspected in-season acute mortality incidents
  • general farm, agri-business and rural business inquiries