About the program

The Regional Development Program consists of the Eastern Ontario Development Fund and Southwestern Ontario Development Fund.

The objective of the program is to provide financial assistance and incentives to support Eastern and Southwestern Ontario by helping municipalities, Indigenous communities, economic development agencies, sector associations and consortia:

  • promote regional economic development
  • attract and retain investment
  • promote innovation
  • foster collaboration and cluster development
  • contribute to the diversification of the economies of Eastern and Southwestern Ontario
  • improve competitive position, enhance productivity and pursue growth
  • facilitate job creation and retention, skills training and talent attraction
  • stimulate private sector investment in business enterprises

Applications will be assessed based on alignment with fund objectives and their relation to other projects under consideration, with a focus on regional economic development benefits.

Eligible geographic areas

Funding is available to organizations undertaking projects in the following geographic areas of Ontario.

Eastern Ontario

  • Frontenac
  • Haliburton
  • Hastings
  • Kawartha Lakes
  • Lanark
  • Leeds and Grenville
  • Lennox and Addington
  • Muskoka
  • Northumberland
  • Ottawa
  • Peterborough
  • Prescott and Russell
  • Prince Edward
  • Renfrew
  • Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry

Southwestern Ontario

  • Brant
  • Bruce
  • Chatham-Kent
  • Dufferin
  • Elgin
  • Essex
  • Grey
  • Haldimand
  • Huron
  • Lambton
  • Middlesex
  • Niagara
  • Norfolk
  • Oxford
  • Perth
  • Simcoe
  • Waterloo
  • Wellington

Contact us

For advice on developing and strengthening your application, contact our regional offices to work with a regional advisor.

For more information about the program, please contact us by e-mail at rdp@ontario.ca.