News and updates

Fisheries management planning is not currently underway for this zone. Contact your local Ministry of Northern Development, Mines, Natural Resources and Forestry district office for more information.

Fishing rules

You can:

About this zone

FMZ 7 is located in northern Ontario. This zone has:

  • a long stretch of Lake Superior shoreline
  • important recreational and tourism-based fisheries
  • prominent fisheries for walleye, northern pike, lake trout, brook trout
  • brook trout stocked into many lakes
  • Pukaskwa Provincial Park and the Chapleau Crown Game Preserve

FMZ 7 is one of 20 fisheries management zones in the province.


Zone 7 straddles northeastern and northwestern Ontario and includes the cities of Nipigon, Geraldton, Marathon and Wawa.

View Fisheries Management Zone 7 map using Fish on-Line or a PDF.

FMZ 7:

  • to the south, follows Lake Superior from the Nipigon River to the Michipicotan River
  • the communities of Hearst and Nakina lie along the northern boundary
  • takes in Michipicotan Island
  • cities include Nipigon, Geraldton, Manitouwadge, Wawa

Legal boundary map and detail maps

Legal boundary map for FMZ 7 and detail maps 1 - 12 (PDF)

Monitoring reports and management plans

None at this time.

Zone advisory council

This fisheries management zone does not have an advisory council yet.

General fishing rules