Council of the Federation Literacy Award

Canada’s 13 premiers and territorial leaders make up the Council of the Federation. They work together on issues of common concern.

Each year the council recognizes a person, team or organization from each province or territory for their work in literacy. They give the Council of the Federation Literacy Award to 13 people across Canada.

For 2021, Ontario will celebrate excellence in the area of adult education, and will recognize an individual who has proven to be an innovator in both:

  • developing or delivering literacy programming
  • demonstrating best practices to support online learning

How to nominate someone

You can help choose Ontario’s next winner of the Council of the Federation Literacy Award.

To nominate a person, you must submit:

  • a completed and signed nomination form
  • a summary of the nominee’s achievements, outlining why they deserve to receive the award
  • at least one letter of support

Nominee eligibility

To be eligible for the Council of the Federation Literacy Award, your nominee must:

  • reside or be based in Ontario
  • have developed and/or delivered adult literacy programming in Ontario within the last 12 months

Make a nomination

Nominations open each spring. Download the nomination form to send in your submission. For 2021, nominations open May 25, 2021 and close at 5 p.m. EST on June 28,  2021.

Note: This form will not work in your browser. Save the file to your device and open it with Adobe Reader.

Award recipients

The Council of the Federation Literacy Award started in 2005. Here’s a list of who’s won the award in Ontario before:

  • 2020: Fatuma Hassan ESL Literacy learner attending Women's Enterprise Skills Training of Windsor Inc.
  • 2019: Katharina Peters, a learner with the YMCA St. Thomas-Elgin Skills Training and Upgrading Program
  • 2018: T.R. Leger School of Adult, Alternative and Continuing Education, Upper Canada District School Board
  • 2017: The LearningHUB
  • 2016: Kenamatewin Native Learning Centre, Kenora
  • 2015: Brenda Krys, literacy volunteer with Waterloo Region District School Board
  • 2014: Tim Nicholls Harrison, CEO, Owen Sound and North Grey Union Public Library
  • 2013: Shelley Harris, education and employment manager, YWCA St. Thomas-Elgin
  • 2012: Community Literacy of Ontario, based in Barrie
  • 2011: Ningwakwe George, founder, Ningwakwe Learning Press
  • 2010: Leah Morris, executive director, Adult Basic Education Association, based in Hamilton
  • 2009: Jean Doull, executive director, Organization for Literacy in Sarnia-Lambton
  • 2008: Alfred Jean-Baptiste, executive director, Centre for Community Learning and Development, Toronto
  • 2007: Michelle Eady, member/project leader,  Sioux Hudson Literacy Council
  • 2006: Leslie Ion, tutor, fundraiser and volunteer, Literacy Council of Brantford and District
  • 2005: Rita Buffalo, literacy coordinator, Anishnawbe Skills Development Program, Thunder Bay