Date of issue: October 5, 1994

Effective: Until revoked or modified

Subject: Carter Scholarship program, 1994: Procedures and conditions of award

Application: Directors of Education
Principals of Secondary Schools
(in Carter Scholarship Jurisdictions)

Reference: This memorandum replaces Policy/Program Memorandum No. 75A, April 16, 1993.

Under the terms of the will of the late J. I. Carter of Sarnia, Carter Scholarships will continue to be awarded in each of the jurisdictions named below.

Each participating board will receive, in trust, one cheque for the total amount to be awarded to students within the board. Scholarships will be divided in each jurisdiction as follows:

  • for the student with the highest aggregate standing: 50% of total award
  • for the student with the second highest aggregate standing: 30% of total award
  • For the student with the third highest aggregate standing: 20% of total award

In no case shall the total amount of the students’ awards exceed the amount available for each jurisdiction. In the event that equal standing is obtained by two or more students, the ministry will determine the distribution of the funds. The following conditions remain in effect:

  1. six credits at the honour graduation level or for Ontario Academic Courses achieved as of August 31, 1994, including a credit in one of English, français, or mathematics, will be considered in determining the candidate’s aggregate standing
  2. the candidate must obtain a minimum of 60% in English, français, or mathematics
  3. marks obtained over two school years (September 1992 to August 1994) may be included in the candidate’s aggregate standing
  4. marks obtained as a result of a second attempt at a course will not be considered.
  5. as outlined in appendix D of Circular H.S.1, 1979-81 and in appendix C of Ontario Schools, Intermediate and Senior Divisions (Grades 7-1210ACs): Program and Diploma Requirements, 1989 (rev. ed.), a mark obtained at a conservatory or school of music and recognized as a credit towards the Ontario Secondary School Diploma or as an equivalent of an Ontario Academic Course will have a value of one credit. This mark may be included in a candidate’s aggregate standing
  6. to be eligible, candidates for these scholarships must have attended a secondary school within the jurisdiction for at least one complete school year prior to graduation
  7. no candidate who has already been awarded a Carter Scholarship will be eligible to compete a second time

Principals of schools under the jurisdiction of participating boards are requested to forward each scholarship candidate’s name and aggregate standing, as well as a copy of his or her Ontario Student Transcript, to their director of education.

In identifying scholarship candidates, directors of education shall consider together the aggregate standing of students in semestered schools, June graduates, and students who have completed a summer school course.

The directors of education for each jurisdiction are asked to forward one set of recommendations, as well as one copy of the Ontario Student Transcript for each candidate in the jurisdiction, to the address below:

George Boskovic
Financial Systems Analyst
Corporate Finance and Services Branch
Ministry of Education
Queen’s Park
12th Floor, Mowat Block
900 Bay St
Toronto ON M7A 1L2

If students from more than one board within a jurisdiction are eligible to be considered for an award the directors of education for all boards concerned must sign the recommendations.

Following confirmation of eligibility, scholarship award cheques win be sent to the directors of education. These cheques will be payable in trust to the appropriate boards.

Participating boards of education

List of jurisdictions including schools and schools boards names
JurisdictionsBoards of EducationSchoolsRoman Catholic Separate School BoardsSchools
BrantBrant CountyAllBrant CountySt. John’s College
Assumption College
BruceBruce CountyAllBruce-Grey CountySacred Heart
St. Mary’s
DurhamDurhamAllDurham RegionDenis O’Connor
Paul Dwyer
É.S. Charles Gamier
Father Leo Austin
Monsignor John Pereyma
St. Mary
ElginElgin CountyAllElgin CountySt. Joseph
EssexEssex CountyAllEssex CountySt Anne/Sainte-Anne
Cardinal Carter
É.S. L’Essor
St. Thomas of Villanova
City of WindsorCity of WindsorAllWindsorAssumption College
F. J. Brennan
E. J. Lajeunesse
Holy Names
St. Joseph’s
St. Michael’s
Catholic Central
GreyGrey CountyAllBruce-Grey CountySt. Mary’s
Sacred Heart
HastingsHastings CountyAllHastings-Prince
Edward County
Nicholson Senior
St. Paul
HuronHuron CountyAllHuron-Perth County
KentKent CountyAllKent CountyPaincourt
Ursuline College The Pines
LambtonLambton CountyAllLambton CountySt. Patrick’s
LanarkLanark CountyAllLanark, Leeds and Grenville countySt. John’s
Leeds and GrenvilleLeeds and Grenville CountyAllLanark, Leeds and Grenville countySt. Mary’s
LincolnLincoln CountyAllLincoln CountyDenis Morris
Holy Cross
MiddlesexMiddlesex CountyAllLondon and Middlesex CountyRegina Mundi College
City of LondonCity of LondonAllLondon and Middlesex CountyCatholic Central/St. Peter’s
John Paul II
St. Thomas Aquinas
St. Joseph
Niagara SouthNiagara SouthAllWelland CountyNotre Dame College
Saint Paul
St. Michael
Northumberland and NewcastleNorthumberland and NewcastleAllPeterborough, Victoria, Northumberland and NewcastleSt. Stephen’s
St. Mary’s
OxfordOxford CountyAllOxford CountySt. Mary’s
PerthPerth CountyAllHuron-Perth County
RenfrewRenfrew CountyAllRenfrew CountyBishop Smith
St. Joseph’s
É.S. Jeanne-Lajoie
SimcoeSimcoe CountyAllSimcoe CountyHoly Trinity
St. Joseph’s
St. Theresa’s
St. Thomas Aquinas
Jean Vanier
Patrick Fogarty
É.S. Nouvelle Alliance
Stormont, Dundas and GlengarryStormont, Dundas and Glengarry CountyAllStormont, Dundas and Glengarry CountySt. Joseph’s
É.S. La Citadelle
É.S. Régionale-Glengarry
É.S. Communautaire
WaterlooWaterloo CountyAllWaterloo RegionMonsignor E. A. Doyle
St. Benedict
St. David
St. Jerome
St. Mary’s
Resurrection Catholic
WellingtonWellington CountyAllWellington CountyBishop MacDonnell
Our Lady of Lourdes
St. James
WentworthWentworth CountyAllHamilton-Wentworth
City of HamiltonCity of HamiltonAllHamilton-WentworthBishop Ryan
Cardinal Newman
Cathedral School
St. Jean de Brébeuf
St. Mary’s
St Thomas More
YorkMetropolitanAll except St. Michael’s College
Borough of East YorkBorough of East YorkAll
City of EtobicokeCity of EtobicokeAll
City of North YorkCity of North YorkAll
City of ScarboroughCity of ScarboroughAll
City of TorontoCity of TorontoAll
City of YorkCity of YorkAll
TorontoConseil des écoles françaises de la communauté urbaine de TorontoAllMetropolitanCollège français à Jarvis
É.S. Étienne-Brûlé
York RegionYork RegionAllYork RegionBrother André
Cardinal Carter
Father Bressani
Father Michael McGivney
Holy Cross
Sacred Heart
St. Elizabeth
St. Joan of Arc
St. Robert